From: Brent Turner <brent_at_trealestate_dot_net>
Date: Tue Dec 15 2009 - 03:01:04 CST

For Immediate Release
December 11, 2009

Jeannie Layson
Sarah Litton
(202) 566-3100

New Technical and Scientific Experts Appointed to EAC's Technical Guidelines
Development Committee

WASHINGTON- The U.S. Election Assistance Commission (EAC) today announced
the appointment of four new technical and scientific experts to its
Technical Guidelines Development Committee (TGDC), which is charged under
the Help America Vote Act (HAVA) with assisting EAC in developing federal
voluntary voting system guidelines that are used to test and certify voting

The following new members were appointed jointly by EAC and the National
Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST):

Steven M. Bellovin, professor of computer science at Columbia University.
Dr. Bellovin's research focuses on networks and security. Before joining the
Columbia faculty in 2005, he spent many years at Bell Labs and AT&T Labs
Research, where he was an AT&T Fellow. He holds a bachelor's degree from
Columbia University and a master's and doctorate in computer science from
the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Diane Cordry Golden, program coordinator for the Association of Assistive
Technology Act Programs. Dr. Cordry Golden has 30 years' experience
providing training and technical assistance on disability policy
implementation and assistive/accessible technology service delivery to
government and nonprofit organizations at the local, state and national
level. She has a doctorate in special education administration with an
emphasis in disability policy, a master's degree in audiology, and a
bachelor's degree in speech-language pathology.

Douglas W. Jones, associate professor of computer science at University of
Iowa. Mr. Jones served on the Iowa Board of Examiners for Voting Machines
and Electronic Voting Systems for 10 years, where he helped examine and
approve voting systems before they were sold to the state's county
governments. He testified at the U.S. Civil Rights Commission hearings in
Tallahassee, Fla., on January 11, 2001, and was involved in reviewing the
federal 2002 Voting System Standards.

Edwin B. Smith, III, vice president of compliance and certification at
Dominion Voting Systems. Before joining Dominion Voting Systems, Mr. Smith
was vice president of manufacturing, compliance, quality and certification
at Sequoia Voting Systems. He also served as the operations manager at Hart
InterCivic and the senior director of operations at K*TEC Electronics. He
holds a Master of Business Administration from the University of Phoenix and
a Bachelor of Science in engineering technology from Texas A&M.

"We welcome this distinguished group of experts to the committee," said EAC
Commissioner Donetta Davidson, the designated federal official of the TGDC.
"We've just concluded our first two-day meeting with our new members, and it
was filled with spirited, thoughtful and productive exchanges. We are
fortunate to have such a dedicated and knowledgeable group of professionals
working with us on federal voting system guidelines."

HAVA established the TGDC to support the EAC by providing recommendations on
voluntary standards and guidelines related to voting equipment and
technologies. The TGDC's first task was to draft the third iteration of
federal voting system standards, known as the voluntary voting system
guidelines, which EAC issued in December 2005. The TGDC continues to work on
future iterations and revisions to the guidelines for consideration by the
EAC Standards Board and Board of Advisors, and for ultimate consideration
and adoption by EAC.

HAVA requires that members of the TGDC be made up of representatives from
the American National Standards Institute, the National Association of State
Election Directors (NASED), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics
Engineers, the Architectural and Transportation Barrier Compliance Board
(commonly referred to as the Access Board), the EAC Standards Board and the
EAC Board of Advisors.

These organizations nominate new members to serve on the TGDC. Recent
appointments include Access Board member Phillip Jenkins, senior software
engineer of the IBM Human Ability and Accessibility Center; NASED member Ann
McGeehan, director of the elections division, State of Texas Office of the
Secretary of State; and EAC Standards Board member Donald Palmer, director
of elections, Florida Department of State.

Other members of the committee include Ron Gardner, director of field
services, National Federation of the Blind; Linda Lamone, administrator of
elections, Maryland State Board of Elections; Paul Miller, voting systems
manager, State of Washington, Office of the Secretary of State; Helen
Purcell, county recorder, Maricopa County, Arizona; Russ Ragsdale, city and
county clerk, City and County of Broomfield, Colorado; and David Wagner,
associate professor, EECS Department, University of California-Berkeley.
Patrick Gallagher, director of NIST, chairs the committee.

For information on TGDC resolutions, meeting minutes and related
information, visit vote.nist.gov. Information about EAC's voting system
testing and certification process, including the federal 2005 Voluntary
Voting System Guidelines, is available at www.eac.gov.

The EAC is an independent commission created by the Help America Vote Act.
The EAC serves as a national clearinghouse and resource of information
regarding election administration. It is charged with administering payments
to states and developing guidance to meet HAVA requirements, adopting
voluntary voting system guidelines, and accrediting voting system test
laboratories and certifying voting equipment. It is also charged with
developing and maintaining a national mail voter registration form. The
three EAC commissioners are Gineen Beach, chair; Gracia Hillman, vice chair;
and Donetta Davidson. There is one vacancy on the commission.


OVC-discuss mailing list
By sending email to the OVC-discuss list, you thereby agree to release the content of your posts to the Public Domain--with the exception of copyrighted material quoted according to fair use, including publicly archiving at http://gnosis.python-hosting.com/voting-project/

= The content of this message, with the exception of any external
= quotations under fair use, are released to the Public Domain
Received on Thu Dec 31 23:17:02 2009

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.1.8 : Thu Dec 31 2009 - 23:17:02 CST